wide-eyed at 4am

Asking Embarrassing Questions

Leave a comment

My follow-up with my plastic surgeon went well.

He was very pleased with how my skin is healing, how healthy my “site” looks and how well I’m doing in getting back my full range of motion in my left arm.

The plan is to finish reconstruction after chemo. Hurray! And then to get on with radiation after a 2-3 week recovery period.

I had a question for my surgeon that I would have blushed to ask before. But after everything I’ve been through, with all who have examined me or performed procedures or therapies on me, not very much embarrasses me. In fact, I believe now that I could probably flash everyone at the corner of Blythe Bv and Kings Dr and never bat an eye.

So asking the nipple question was easy.

We had not discussed the options for this – which I was fine with because I still have plenty of time to “decide,” but I’d recently seen how amazing nipple tattoos look on the TV show “Botched” and I was sort of dying to know if this is what he is thinking for me.

So….the tattoos are a possibility – they even have a PA who is a medical tattoo artist so I don’t have to go someone else to get it.

My other question has to do with symmetry because that is critical in the process of giving the patient their self-image and whole/normal feeling back. How would everything work to get the best results and to have both of my girls look as much alike as possible?

Lots depends on something that I hadn’t thought of (gee – that’s why he is in charge) skin health after radiation. Nothing – tattoos or any other options can be done until after radiation. So I can get the surgery completed – removal of the expanded, insertion of implant and reduction and lift on right side – prior to radiation. The tattoo would have to be done after healing more than just the 2 weeks. Besides, with the tightening and drawing up that radiation causes, you wouldn’t want to get the tattoo and then wish it were a little lower after radiation….

They can do all sorts of things. Pull skin flaps to “make” a match for the other side. They can simple to the tattoo or do a flap with a tattoo.

Creative aren’t they?

At least my questions are answered and I know that the choices will have to be determined when my skin has healed from the 6 weeks of “roasting” that I’ll be treated to.

So the next time I watch”Botched,” I’ll know even more than I did before!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

