wide-eyed at 4am

They’re Called “Grand” Children for a Reason

1 Comment

Time spent with children and grandchildren is, indeed, precious. And when you’re down or struggling, it’s therapeutic. 

I got a good dose of that “healing” over our extended Thanksgiving holiday.

Of course, we celebrated Thanksgiving. 21 people feasting together was a feat to pull off – but our daughters did a great job! We celebrated our two teenagers – as the twins turn 13 – and watched as all – starting at age 3 1/2 – opened their Christmas gifts.BLOG_Tgiving_Grands_12042015

I baked a cake with Hannah. Pink, of course.

BLOG_Baking_12042015And we had craft day – making Christmas stars with all. Dennis had his “boys” lunch with Connor and Camden and played a round of golf with Camden and Brandon.

BLOG_3GenGolf_12042015I had a makeover – complements of Aerin and shopped for some new makeup items.

BLOG_Makeover_12042015And all 11 of us went to Tarpon Springs to see the sponge divers and enjoyed an authentic Greek lunch over looking the docks where the sponges are hauled in.

BLOG_SpongeDocks_12042015

It’s always good to get home to our own comforts but we miss them as soon as we drive away.

You just don’t know why they’re really called “grand” children until you’ve experienced it for yourself.

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “They’re Called “Grand” Children for a Reason

  1. Yes, they are grand and a joy

    Like

Leave a Reply

