wide-eyed at 4am

So Far So Good

1 Comment

11 down and 5 to go!

Yesterday’s infusion was a breeze. We even went Christmas shopping directly from LCI. So I would say that’s a good thing.

BLOG_BMe&SideKick_12082015My usual side kick was with me for #11. He misses nothing.  He just sits in the chair next to me. We don’t even talk much because I’m on my laptop working and he is on his tablet or working word puzzles. But his presence there is supportive. I don’t know what I’d do without him.

Cumulative Effects

The side effects continue to accumulate: nails looking worse but not really pulling away from beds badly.

Eye brows and especially eye lashes are disappearing gradually.

Slight neuropathy around expander. This was my plastic surgeon’s thought. Since I have the neuropathy in my fingers and toes, it could be showing up there when the nerves are continuing to reconnect.

By the time I was partially through the “day after” of infusion #10, I had a small area that was pretty “rashy” – nothing but redness. No itching or discomfort. It wasn’t raised at all. My skin was still smooth.

But my weight is holding steady, vitals are good (except for a little raised blood pressure today) and I’m not having any odd responses to the drug (yet).

My lymphodema therapist noticed it and we took pictures of it and I called my oncologist’s nurse. 3 doses of Benedryl fixed it in just about 1.5 days.

That has not yet shown up for #11, but I’m not into my second day far enough yet.

Sleep Trend

Well, it’s really a difficulty in sleeping trend. This is happening every night directly after chemo. You would THINK I would be sleepy. I didn’t even get drowsy from the intravenous Benedryl this time, but perhaps it was because we took off for the Charlotte Outlets and I didn’t even have a chance to get still.

It’s now 3:15 am and I woke up after struggling between naps at 2:30. I took Melatonin but that obviously did NO GOOD tonight!

We train in the morning and immediately go to Second Harvest Food Bank to work a slot with Jackrabbit. Lunch after with the Jackrabbit crew. I would imagine that the lack of sleep will catch up with me in the afternoon!

I’m soooo excited that only 5 treatments remain. There just aren’t words.

My blood work seems to have settled down. The infusion nurse called it perfect yesterday. I’m going to continue to get rest between infusions, eat the foods I’ve learned are good for improved liver function (apples, leafy greens, cruciferous veggies like broccoli, cauliflower & brussel sprouts, carrots, beets, avocados) and basically stick to my other healthy diet habits of low sugar, low fat, no alcohol or soda and as much no hormone and organic food as possible and maintain reasonable exercise. It may not be “proven way” to help keep liver enzymes in check but it seems to have worked for me.

The rest is even more difficult during December. With choir, decorating, baking, shopping, parties and events, it’s just a lot more difficult to find an hour or two to just let my body do nothing (except recover).

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “So Far So Good

  1. Hi Jill. Hope you felt the intensive prayers yesterday. You remain on my heart and yesterday during our church service, I went to the alter and you were top of the list. Appreciate seeing your updates, you are a rock star, and so is Dennis.
    Love and hugs,
    LLB

    Like

Leave a Reply

