wide-eyed at 4am

A Gift They Didn’t Know They Gave

Leave a comment

I can enjoy myself.  This is something that I think some people don’t allow themselves to do when they are in the midst of turmoil and life changing treatment like the one that accompanies a breast cancer diagnosis.

Really – being able to do this is what saves my sanity.

And it’s fantastic when those around me give me the opportunity to do this.

Monday night is a prime example.

Again – it was my awesome friends and co-workers, the best marketing team on the planet.

Julie and Sara Beth have been a source of strength and help since day 1. Melissa is in CA except for visits to Charlotte perhaps twice a year but sends her long distance support in amazing ways.

Monday night we came together to celebrate the season.

And who better to do it with than these ladies who are such an important part of my support system.

We planned an evening at Sara Beth’s new abode (which took lots of nerve on her part!) starting off with drinks and appetizers…….

We had made the decision to “do an activity” and planned wreath-making.

This is my specialty and I had agreed to show them how I do it.

I gathered the supplies and brought everything to Sara Beth’s. That is where her courage came in – I descended upon her new kitchen and amazing living space with hot more hot glue and glitter than anyone’s home should have to endure – and she (nor her fiancé) flinched. Poor Moses was tremendously curious but not allowed to explore by being held hostage in the bedroom.

IMG_4504

After enjoying our dinner of beef and reef salads, we began.

This was pretty much my show and they let me run it.

This was really awesome for me because it was sort of the first time I’ve “taken charge” of something since my surgery in July and treatment began in August.

It felt really good to be allowed to do whatever I needed to do. I set up tables and moved things around and they didn’t ever question whether I “should be doing” this or that.

Thank you, ladies! It was amazing to sort of have a night of normalcy!

By the way, they learned quickly and we produced 4 beautiful wreaths. I will remember their generosity of this evening and how they provided me with a gift that they probably didn’t even know they gave.

Enjoy the pictures of our amazing evening!

 

 

We ended the evening with heartfelt gifts for each other – and Chocolate-Orange Cannoli Cheesecake (of course)!

IMG_4489

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

