wide-eyed at 4am

The Light at the End of the Tunnel

Leave a comment

I’m really getting down to the end of chemo now. Almost finished up with #13. In just 3 more weeks, I will have completed my last chemo treatment.

It’s hard to believe that this time has come. When chemo began way back at the end of August, the end of this phase wasn’t on the horizon but far over the hill into the future.

Sure, I have more to come, but chemo is described as the “worst of it.”

And, man oh man, I’m happy to have it behind me.

I saw my oncologist this morning. She’s elated with my bloodwork track record and with how I’m handling the treatments and its side effects.

And, frankly, I’m thankful for how it has gone. My side effects – while not pleasant to look at or tolerate – are not debilitating and are actually quite mild as intensity levels go.

BLOG_Me at Chemo13_Taxo9_12222015

I’ve been able to maintain my upbeat outlook (hopefully that will continue through the remaining 3 infusions) and look forward to the 30-day “break” I will have as I recover from chemo and “look forward” to the completion of reconstruction and radiation.

We will celebrate Christmas Eve and Day with my family and then Saturday and Sunday with Kirsten, Kylie, Taylor and Connor who are driving up from Tampa to visit with us – but mainly to visit with my parents who they’ve not seen in several years.

We won’t travel to Tampa this year. It will be a good time to rest a little (even though I have chemo on Tuesday) and have a little time to ourselves. The hardest part will be missing Aerin and her family during that week.

Despite the busyness of the holidays, we’re progressing well. I’m thrilled that both my oncology surgeon and oncologist are happy with my physical and emotion state.

I suppose I follow direction well.

On to 2016 and continuing to follow directions well.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

