wide-eyed at 4am

Ringing in a New Year

Leave a comment

Sitting here thinking about 2015 and what my thoughts were on this day last year, I should probably just feel stunned.But I don’t. I would have never imagined – on January 1st of 2015 – that I would be planning my “last chemo day celebration” in 2016. It proves how unpredictable life can be.

Needless to say, my priorities are a little different this January 1st. I’ve learned a lot about what is REALLY important in life and important to me.

Faith, health, people/relationships…

It’s not that those weren’t on the list or even at the top. It’s just that some others that were on the list last year, fell off during my warrior’s journey.

I’ve been able to focus on these priorities much more clearly and just get rid of distractions.

I’ve learned a lot about my strength, my self-confidence, my determination and resolve.

I’ve also learned about my willingness to bare my soul in sharing with others. There is one thing for sure, when you’re undergoing chemo and bald, people notice. Some boldly stare and whisper about what I must “have”, some stare timidly and look away when my eyes meet theirs. Some share stories of family members and some share their own stories.

I’ve learned that it’s definitely a sisterhood. Breast cancer creates a kinship that enables its victims to reach out regardless of who, where or when.

I’ve been asked to share my strength. It makes me feel good to help someone whose battle has gotten them down or who doesn’t have the support that I’ve been blessed with.

I hope that’s part of what this blog does. I hope it helps someone deal with their diagnosis whether it’s breast cancer, another type of cancer or anything else at all.

So today I’m looking forward to the next couple of weeks – to get chemo behind me. When I started chemo way back on August 27th, the end didn’t even seem possible. 16 treatments seemed like an eternity but having faith, taking it one treatment at a time and allowing my support people to keep me uplifted allows me to look at just 2 more treatments in amazement. And on that last day, I will feel that I’ve really accomplished something.

My “reward” will be the month of recovery time that I will have before having another surgery to complete most of the reconstruction that my condition requires and (after 2-3 weeks of recovery from that) beginning my 36-treatment radiation regimen.

So Happy New Year! I’m not sure what you’re looking forward to, but I’m looking forward to the final smackdown on breast cancer.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

