wide-eyed at 4am

Sad Excuse for an Eyebrow

Leave a comment

Have you seen a sadder eyebrow?

As the Taxol infusions disappear from my schedule, so my eyebrows (and eye lashes) disappear from my face.

I’ve had several friends comment that I’m handling something so devastating very well.

But it isn’t devastating to me. It’s just something else that I have to deal with.

I got over being self-conscious about the way that I look a long time ago. Losing the hair, having one c-cup sized breast and one that is still the old DD, and looking a little frog-eyed with disappearing eye lashes and brows just doesn’t seem critical when you’re undergoing the process and procedures that cancer treatment encompasses.

I actually find the side effects somewhat interesting: the way some of them progress and others are exactly the same with each additional treatment.

So the progression of lost eye lashes and brows has been one of the most interesting. The picture actually doesn’t do the look justice. My eye lashes actually remind me of a snaggle-toothed kid on one side and like a baby who has just gotten two front teeth on the other. I just don’t have many. So few that mascara is impossible and silly looking.

And as you see, the brow shown is quite patchy. I have found great brow pencils and powders and brushes to help and I’ve even become quite adept at matching them up since they aren’t disappearing equally.

Just one more progression. After this Wednesday it will be interesting to see how many more fall out.

The good news with all of this is that eye lashes, eye brows and hair grow back. Instead of being devastated, I remain interested in how it will take place. I may be in for an exciting new look – or just wear my hats for a while longer – until it grows out enough to straighten or color.

 

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

