wide-eyed at 4am

Reached: One BHAM!!

2 Comments

I’m making up my own acronym. Big Hairy Audacious Milestone: BHAM

In the business world, entrepreneurs talk about BHAGs: Big Hair Audacious Goals. I‘m borrowing from them to create my acronym on the accomplishment end: BHAM.

Today was awesome. Although I must say, I was a little anxious this morning and it had potential to get a little emotional in the afternoon.

We had a packed schedule before my 12 noon infusion time:

8:30am – Workout with trainer

9:45am – Pit stop at Trader Joe’s to pick up flowers for Infusion Team

10:15am – Pick up lunch at Harris Teeter

10:35am – Put garnish on cheesecakes and arrange on tray with cupcakes

10:45am – Arrange flowers in vase and make bow

11:00am – Put Lidocaine cream on port site and change into pink outfit

11:10am – Eat sandwich (quickly)

11:20am – Load everything in car and head for infusion

11:45am – Arrive at LCI Pineville and wait to be called back to infusion area

I relaxed when I got in my chair. I knew the last infusion was underway for sure and in just a few hours I would reach my milestone.

I was glad that my biggest supporter and fabulous husband was there with me. But I also got a surprise – Sara Beth stopped by to spend the last 1/2 of my infusion time with me and she had a bouquet of  pink roses for me. She helped me to fight off the Benadryl and stay awake (even if I didn’t always make sense) during the entire infusion. (The drugs make me a little fuzzy headed sometimes….)

The roses must have been a theme. My amazing daughters, son-in-laws and grandchildren sent me the most beautiful bouquet of red roses and lilies that arrived after I got back home from my infusion. What a beautiful expression of their support and love! (Pics below show the red and lilies and then the entire mixture after I added the pink roses from Sara Beth.)

I have to say that it was a little emotional about the end of this process.

I’ve described the amazing individuals that work in the LCI Pineville infusion room.

When I got there and presented them with our offerings of appreciation (homemade treats, cards and flowers) they were gracious and very appreciative – noting that I was the one who should be getting treats.

But I disagree. I’m just there trying to get through the process as bravely as possible – causing the least amount of drama that I can manage and trying to be pleasant (because I know what it’s like to watch drama queens in there) so I don’t make their jobs more difficult.

They deserve every ounce of appreciation and admiration for the fantastic jobs that they do.

I found out a little about this today.

I knew already that being an infusion nurse takes very specific training. So that makes them special from the get-go.

But these ladies are also passionate about their role in our treatment. They feel they’re sort of “called” to be in this position. Most have been nurses in several other areas and have chosen to make this their specialty. Most feel they’re meant to be there and don’t really want change to any other specialty.

That’s why they are so good at it. They don’t just have the skills. They have the heart.

Honor, Tiffany, Brandi, Maddie (not sure I spelled that correctly), and Amber…. There have been a couple of the other girls who worked with me and I’m just not remembering their names. Doesn’t mean they are any less awesome. It does mean that my memory is sketchy.

The nurses aren’t alone in being awesome. Everyone that works in that location is amazing. From administrative folks to lab technicians, they are all very caring and compassionate in the way they do what they do. I think it must just be something in the culture at LCI because everyone that I’ve had experiences with has had the same very comforting traits.

[Some pictures from today]

I’ve been fortunate to have such dedicated and skilled people around me from day one but especially through this trying process. These people helped me to be able to smile through it. That’s important for the process and important to me personally.

These folks have a sense of humor too and know exactly where to draw the line. They also know who embraces their humor and who is struggling just to be there. When we checked in, Kyle (our check in person) flashed a big smile and said “I genuinely hope I never see you again.” This was a theme, because it was echoed back in the infusion room. The girls there echoed Kyle’s sentiment because they truly don’t want you to need them for treatment ever again. Of course, this was followed by the fact that this doesn’t count for visits – so they know how we’re doing…

I’ll miss seeing them. A fly-by whenever I’m in the building is highly likely. Besides – they want to know how my hair grows in.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Reached: One BHAM!!

  1. Congrats on this Big Hairy Audacious Milestone, Jill!! You Go Girl!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Beauty Unfolds | wide-eyed at 4am

Leave a Reply

