wide-eyed at 4am

Senseless Loss

1 Comment

Over the past several years, we became acquainted and were fortunate enough to grow close to a very charming, witty, funny, caring and beautiful young woman.

It’s funny that this came about by how regularly we frequent Mac’s Speed Shop. We stopped for salads after workouts uptown 3 days a week. Seeing someone that often, you get to know each other quite well.

Since my diagnosis, we had become even closer. I noted her caring nature. She was very concerned about everything that I was going through and gave me and Dennis lots of moral support.

Let’s just say that we even would get a text from her if we weren’t there on our regular days – wondering what happened to us.

That’s why last Sunday was such a shock.

That sweet spirit was senselessly taken by a drunk driver as she tried to walk across South Boulevard after the Panther-Seahawks game.

She died shortly after the car hit her.

We got a call about 4 hours later with the news.

No matter what your faith or situation, you wonder why something like this happens to a sweet 28 year old soul with lots of plans for the future.

I believe God has a plan for us all. So I wondered why this was God’s plan for her. I knew she had some concerns. I think all women do when it comes particular women’s health issues. She told me that she didn’t know how she would handle something like what I was going through now. Would God save someone from going through it?

Some things we will never know. And we will never know why it had to be her that ended up that drunk and speeding driver’s victim.

I’ve thought a lot about this over the past week: a lot on Saturday, when I knew she had been laid to rest; a lot on Sunday when I looked at the beautiful stained glass at Providence.

We will miss her. Of course, there will be a void. But we won’t experience a void anything like her family, her boyfriend and her friends and co-workers. I can’t imagine the void they feel from such a quick and tragic┬áloss. Such a loss because of a selfish person’s stupidity.

Such a sweet earthly soul; now an angel watching over us.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Senseless Loss

  1. How sad and tragic ! I am so sorry ! Prayers for her family and friends like you as you handle the shock of her loss and such a sudden terrible accident.

    Like

Leave a Reply

