wide-eyed at 4am

30-Day “Vacation”

Leave a comment

I had noted that I would have a 30-day gap where I wouldn’t be able to do anything but recover. It’s been more than a dozen days and I haven’t had a doctor’s appointment or a treatment! I don’t know what to do with myself. My body probably wonders what is going on. I still have a little more than 2 weeks before the 30-days is up. But I will have a couple of appointments before that window closes.

I didn’t intend to take a vacation from posting – it just happened. Time really got away from me. 

I’m back at it now. Excitedly ramping myself up for the next phases of this journey.

  • My hair is coming back in. It looks like “snowflake” will be a fitting nickname for me.
  • My split personality sinuses (dry one minute and dripping the next) as well as my excessive dry mouth are clearing up.
  • Nails (toe and finger) are not as sensitive and my neuropathy is easing up a little.

The neuropathy is the most irritating thing. Imagine areas of your feet being asleep – with pins and needles – sporadically. It can get next to you. It’s worse at night. Not sure if that is because all distractions are gone or if the sensation is truly more intense. I have found that Bath and Body Works’ “Sleep” lotion (when rubbed on my feet at night) reduces the tingling sensation and actually makes it easier for me to go to sleep. It’s odd – since I don’t think there is any proof that the combination of lavender and vanilla has any impact on neuropathy. All I know is that I can get to sleep when I rub my feet with it!

I’m looking forward to my follow-up with my oncologist – when I will have blood work done to check on my recovery. It’s interesting to read the labs and watch the levels that change – now that I know what some of them mean.

As impatient as I am about getting through this journey, I can’t say that I’m enjoying this vacation. I would love to have been able to be 30-days further along – than waiting. But that isn’t an option. It’s not just to give the immune system time to recover but it actually has something to do with your body on a cellular level. I didn’t know that. I’m not exactly sure what that means but it came directly from one of my doctors so I’m thinking it’s correct.

I’ve learned to look at this process analytically. I find it amusing and interesting to compare and track my side effects, my body’s reaction to treatments and how this treatment is done.  Now I’m watching my fingernails. They look pretty pitiful, a few of them are sensitive and one is actually a little painful at times. It’s predicted that this will take quite some time to get back to “normal.” They already look better and don’t seem to be “lifting” from my nail beds anymore so I suppose that’s progress.

What an education on my body this journey is!

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

