wide-eyed at 4am

Forward Progress

Leave a comment

I’m happy to say that I got a good blood work report from my oncologist today. Apparently my recovery from chemo is going well and I’m well on my way to being ready for anything!

Anything just happens to be more surgery. On the afternoon of February 16th, my plastic surgeon will complete reconstruction (“install” my permanent saline implant and lift and reduce the other side to match). Doesn’t sound like fun but I’m looking forward to it.

I’m excited to know that in less than 2 weeks I will no longer be lop-sided and will be the size that I will be hereafter. I’ll be raring to go shopping for a style of top or dress that I’ve never before been able to wear.

Following my recovery from this surgery – predicted to be 2 1/2 to 3 weeks – I will start a 36-series of radiation.

When I left my oncologist’s office yesterday, it was hard to believe that my next appointment with her would be after these phases (surgery and radiation) are complete. She is incredibly pleased with my progress and has lifted my food restriction (hooray!).

I’m still on calcium + D supplement, however, since following radiation, I’ll be meeting back up with my oncologist to start oral hormone therapy. Just before starting that treatment, I will have a bone density test to establish a baseline to test the impact of the inhibitor drugs. The oral hormone therapy continues for 5 years (or more).

These milestones are exciting because it gets me closer and closer to getting my life back. Huge strides were made last July when I had my original surgery that removed al of the cancer from my body. This was confirmed by two body scans that produced no positive results in other areas of my body. Now treatment phase 1 (chemo) and 2 (recovery period) are almost complete and phases 3 (reconstruction completion) and 4 (radiation) are imminent. In 3 months it will be early May and I should be ready for phase 5 (oral meds) that will require far less of my energy and the attention of doctors.

Maybe things will start to get back to “normal” then. Whatever normal will be.

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

