wide-eyed at 4am

A Week Away

Leave a comment

In just one week, I will be undergoing surgery again. I’ve noted in previous posts that I’m really excited about my surgery!

I will have reconstruction completed – which means that I will have my permanent implant on my left side and no longer sport the “expander” that’s been under my breast skin and muscle since July and I’ll get “evened up” through a reduction and lift on the right side.

I’ve been so excited that I’ve not thought too much about recovery time, pain and any movement that may be restricted this time around.

My plastic surgeon has explained the procedures so it’s not that I don’t know what will take place. I suppose I just know that it really doesn’t matter. This is simply another step in the process to completing my treatment and getting back to normal. “Just Do It!”

Being a little – OK maybe more than a little uncomfortable since July and not fitting into any one size and looking like something is wrong with me hasn’t been fun. I’ll be thrilled to get this behind me and (along with getting my hair back) slowly return to my old self. Oh wait! It won’t be my old self! It will be me but perkier!

So as I’ve approached this surgery, I’ve not gotten nervous (yet) or really “worried” about anything. I suppose previous experience has taken care of that. But I have sort of craved comfort food – similar to when I was undergoing my first four chemo treatments.BLOG_ComfortFood_02082016

I made sure I got some last night! I made a homemade Mac and Cheese! It was soooo good. I’m glad I made one big enough for leftovers. Especially since it seems like Mac and Cheese just gets better and better – almost like it “cures” in the fridge!

I’m making meatballs with linguine and red sauce this week too, but that is more Dennis’ kind of comfort food!

By the time Tuesday gets here, I should be “comforted” enough and ready to speed a few days recovering after surgery!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

