wide-eyed at 4am

Spring Air Tickled My Legs

Leave a comment

I’ve never had such a span of time that I couldn’t/didn’t get outside for any significant amount of time. I took a two mile walk on Tuesday – my efforts to “get back on track” in some sort of exercise regimen…

My initial surgery was July 9 with another following 2 weeks after. One month after that, I start chemo – which lasted until January 13. Just a few days more than one month after that date, I had surgery again. It has been just over a month since that surgery. This is not to say that I’ve gotten no exercise. I have been working with our trainer and exercising as regularly indoors as my schedule and weather would allow. And honestly, there were a few days in there that I just didn’t feel like doing more than walking to the car.

It was an unusually warm day on Tuesday – climbing into the high seventies, clear and sunny. There was a slight breeze. It was a shorts and sunglasses day, for sure. Spring has sprung and the day was a glorious example of it.

Taking really deep breaths is still a challenge but I was determined to keep up a good pace. Despite these struggles, I was thrilled to be out enjoying some fresh air and outdoor exercise!

What amazed me the most? The feeling of the breeze on my bare arms and legs. It was a feeling that stood out because of how long it’s been since I have felt this. It surprised me so much that I looked down at my legs to see if something unusual was happening. How special could this be, right? It’s just air. But this experience just highlights even more something that has amazed me along this journey….the little things that I never considered as “joys” now stand out as things I relish.

 

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

