wide-eyed at 4am

Our Amazing Skin

Leave a comment

My most recent surgery was quite involved since work was done on the right side as well as the left.

In fact, the surgery to match the right side to the left was more complex than the “completion” work on the left side. And the incisions were quite significant.

That being said – in a phenomenally short time, the scars have healed quite nicely and actually aren’t scary looking. (Well, I suppose that is a relative statement. They probably are pretty daunting to someone who has never before seen what a mastectomy can leave a person with.)

My plastic surgeon instructed a regimen of Neosporin or A&D Ointment and scent-free moisturizer. And it has worked wonders! Even some of the areas that looked the angriest just after surgery, are almost blending in!

The resiliency of our skin is nothing short of amazing. A healthy body has the ability to restore itself in what to me seems like record time. Yes, our skin is designed for this. One of its main purposes is to protect what is underneath. But that doesn’t mean that the speed with which it does this can’t mystify us.

Several other things amaze me. I didn’t have stitches (well one at my port incision) – I had tape. There were – undoubtedly – stitches used internally as the reduction and lift on the right had to remove and rearrange quite a bit of tissue. But externally – just the one stitch.

I’ve experienced smaller examples of this, but never imagined when I saw my incisions for the first time 4 weeks and 1 day ago that I would be looking and feeling as good as I am.

I can credit my general good health for part of this. I know of cases where “other”  health issues cause healing to be challenging.

I also must give credit to my lymphedema therapist. She did laser and ultrasound massage this week that was awesome! And it seems that after that treatment my scars showed even more improvement.

And finally – and probably most importantly – I have to credit my plastic surgeon. All of this amazingness just shows what can happen when someone is really good at what they do!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

