wide-eyed at 4am

Looking at a New Cycle of Treatment – and Daffodils

Leave a comment

We’re just into Spring now and the few daffodils that we have in our yard are blooming. Between those and the dogwood, I know that a new season is here.

It’s also time for a new cycle in my treatment: radiation.

This sounds like the most difficult when you hear the number of treatments, but (from what I’m hearing) it’s not. Chemo is a more difficult part of the journey. Happy that the chemo part is over, I now look directly into the face of radiation.

Each treatment will likely only take about 15 minutes, but they happen every day for no less 30 and no more than 33 treatment sessions. Those aren’t typos – 30 to 33.

What makes this less difficult is the likelihood that I will have disruptive side effects.

I will soon find out.

Tomorrow is my dry run. Everything will be lined up like the real thing is happening but they don’t actually give me the juice. I will also have the radiation version of the chemo teach session before chemo began where a radiation nurse will give me the dos and don’ts and helpful hints for making through my 30+ treatments as happily as possible.

It will “in total” take about an hour.

The following day I begin the regimen of getting the real juice daily (or actually 5 days a week) until I’ve completed what my radiation oncologist has planned for me.

That is something else that I will find out tomorrow – my schedule. In other words, I will find out what form the next 7 weeks of life will take on not only for me but for my biggest supporter and amazing husband.

Just a little anxious about this but actually looking forward to getting on with it.

This “break” between surgery and radiation has made me quite antsy.

It’s there. The light at the end of the tunnel. I can see it now. In less than 2 months it will be over with.

Singing The Hallelujah Chorus Easter Sunday was especially appropriate this year.

 

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

