wide-eyed at 4am

A Pet Peeve – Literally

Leave a comment

As we drove uptown to work out, we noticed a man walking 3 little dogs. I was just about to comment on the cuteness of the dogs, when I noticed that the man had led the 3 pups into the middle of a neighbor’s lawn where they proceeded to poop. He then led them from the yard, leaving their poop in the yard.

I know that this neighbor lady has no dog and would, no doubt, be angry if she stepped in said poop on her way to her mailbox.

This is beyond rude and disgusting behavior. Especially in a world where cheap, easy-to-use poop collection bags are also easy to get. This man could have EASILY gathered his dogs’ poop and NOT left it is his neighbor’s yard.

I got back to the Golden Rule once again. How would he like it if someone let their 3 dogs poop in his yard. And do it – not on a far corner of the yard – but right in the middle of the lawn and in a direct path between the front door and mailbox.

I just don’t get it. He had to go out of his way to walk up a hill to the middle of the yard. What an inconsiderate ass.

And then there is his female personality counterpart who walks her boxer up and down our street and allows him to lift his leg and do his business on just about every mailbox available….including ours. I’m sure my poor clematis display is not benefiting from this. In fact, the dog makes 2 stops in our front yard: 1 at the corner where once thrived a red honeysuckle that I transplanted from my grandmother’s yard. It lives no more. After being drowned daily for several years, this treasured vine finally succumbed. The dog’s frequent gifts also make a minefield of the bed around our mailbox. And somehow, this “neighbor” doesn’t believe in using poop collection bags either.

What’s worse, she doesn’t even bypass our mailbox if we’re pulling in the drive. She let’s him do his business right in front of us. I’ve almost jumped from our moving car to confront her, but never done so. I’m sort of afraid of what I might say to her.

Maybe the out-dated puppy-training trick of rubbing her nose in it would cure her of her bad habits.

I know where she lives. I’ve considered packaging up a “bundle” left by her dog and depositing it in her mailbox. I’ve even heard of folks who’ve collected several days worth and then just dumped all around in the offender’s yard.

I personally don’t want to have to “collect”the deposits daily and keep them until collecting enough to make a good display, so I’ve totally ruled this option out.

I keep waiting to catch this person in the midst of the walk-by bombings when I can get close enough to make my request of her to “stop allowing her dog to ruin our landscaping on a daily basis…” but the opportunity hasn’t presented itself.

Being rude to her, however, is simply stooping to her level. I suppose I was raised too strictly by the Golden Rule to respond with the same kind of inconsiderate behavior she shows to us.

I know what it’s like to have a dog that thinks he must leave his mark at every possible point. Our now deceased male beagle was notorious. But I didn’t LET him get close enough to yards and mail boxes to do his damage. His leash was always just short enough to keep him away as I walked in the middle of the street. He had to leave his marks in the yet-to-be-developed lots along the way – or in the wooded areas that are not yards in our neighborhood. Picking up when required is simply a necessary evil of walking your dog. Sure, it would be easier to just let him run from mailbox to mailbox but I would feel guilty – completely understanding what it’s like to be on the receiving end of this one.

These unusually rude folks in our neighborhood need to learn the Golden Rule. Any original ideas for enlightening them about their rude actions?

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

