wide-eyed at 4am

Getting Cooked

Leave a comment

And that is literally what it looks like.

Now I’m what I would call medium rare with 10 treatments to go. At least there are the weekends for 2 days of recovery. The daily roastings get a little intense, but I do recover a bit overnight.

The Radiaplex – applied 3 times daily – works and the Silvertene creme is quite amazing. While my armpit still looks pretty cooked, it is much better than it was on Monday after I had accidentally peeled the top layer of skin off while doing my muscle massage. In spite of the daily treatments, the Silvertene has healed it so that the patches of new skin aren’t quite as obvious and the peeled skin is falling off on its own.

During this entire journey, the “process” has amazed me and this is no different. I’ve watched as my “color” has gone from no change to gradually tanning, to light pink, to today’s more medium rare. I’ve seen some really red results from this. With the size of my treatment area, I’m hoping that I never reach THAT color. We will see as the days tick off next week – counting down the last 10 – and checking the pinkness level daily. as it progresses, the size of the treatment area gets ore and more obvious. We’ve even noticed the pinkness showing on my shoulder blade – and the treatment is applied to the front side….

Below? The ugliest cooked armpit you’ve probably ever seen and a very pink (medium rare) right as you look but actually left side of my chest compared to the other side. The split is actually in the middle – not closer to the treatment side. It’s really getting to be obvious – even when I’m fully dressed.

I’m taking my doctor’s and my Lymphedema therapist’s advice and leaving the bra in the drawer. I’ve opted for camisoles or nothing under loose, soft shirts. And with my new perkiness, it really doesn’t matter. Thin shirt – camisole. Thicker shirt – free-wheelin’. That’s quite a change from the days when I couldn’t/wouldn’t go without major support!!

 

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

