wide-eyed at 4am

Counting Down …

Leave a comment

Yesterday was my #28 milestone! No more “full treatments area” cycles. Next week will be what they call boost treatments. These target a specific area where the radiologist wants to concentrate some cycles. I wondered how this was going to work on me since I had several areas that would be considered problem areas where cancer was.

Key word there is “was.” Since my surgeries in July, I’ve been cancer free, so there is no cancer for them to aim at….just areas where it was.

Since the surgical incision is apparently (according to my radiology oncologist) the place where cancer could reoccur (because during surgery there is some (not sure of the percentage) possibility that cells could get reseeded into the incision.

My target area will be a small sausage shaped one just on my incision. So next week’s sessions will only radiate that part.

That is fabulous news since my armpit is the area suffering the most from my treatments. I tolerated the full area treatments pretty well and my armpit skin is already recovering – thanks to the Radiaplex and Silvertene cream. I should cruise through the 5 boost treatments next week and finish on Friday the 13th since they are lower radiation levels that are targeted to treat mostly surface on the incision area. According to my awesome techs, I shouldn’t get much pinker than I already am in that area.

This has been another type of milestone week. I’m rolling with just my silvery hair. No hats, no wigs. Just me. Everyone loves it and I do too – especially as I get more on top. It’s just different and I have to get used to it. It’s so in style, how can I not go short and silver?

I want to celebrate this. I’m sure there will be multiple events but I don’t know what. There are several people that we plan to celebrate with dinners out – but all of those plans are going to have to wait until we get back from a visit with the kids and grandkids. I absolutely can’t wait to see them with the knowledge that active treatment is behind me and it’s mostly healing now and getting accustomed – once again – to what life is like without treatments, therapies and doctor’s appointments happening daily.

I can get back to an exercise and work schedule. I didn’t realize how much this “schedule” meant to me until it was made impossible to maintain. I can start rebuilding and get back to my normal activities and work regimens. I know this will be slow and I won’t be boxing, running and walking regularly YET. But I won’t have the hurdles that I’ve had and it will just be up to me to listen to my body and work at it.

It’s a challenge. But we know what happens when a challenge is laid down…

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

