wide-eyed at 4am

Art Gallery

2 Comments

If you’ve not bought yourself an adult coloring book, go out now and get one. They’re fabulous.

Dennis and I purchased them early in the radiation process since we were in waiting rooms daily. I think we both wish we had made our purchases long ago when my breast cancer journey began.

We’ve not only used them in waiting rooms but anytime we want to do some coloring therapy.

I found it relaxing to color at night after I’ve been “working” or if I’ve just been up doing house chores…It helps me to slow down and get my mind into a different zone.

Art in our blood.

Since we were both trained as artists this is particularly fun. We pretty much have art in our blood – or as it’s fashionable to say today “In our DNA.” We’re not snooty as an artist – thinking that since we are artists that it’s blasphemy to use a “coloring book.” We thoroughly enjoy planning out colors as we start and balancing out our page as we work through the designs.

Because of our art backgrounds, we already had quite a supply of nice Prismacolor pencils. Be we haven’t been satisfied with that. We have sought out specific tones and hues and purchased fine tip markers to mix in with the pencils for a different effect.

I think I started something in the radiation waiting room. Now there are clip boards in both the women’s and men’s waiting rooms with coloring sheets and pencils. Everyone’s coloring!

Men are from Mars…

Some details from the radiation technicians supports the “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” theory. They’ve observed the different methods that each group uses to tackle the coloring sheets. In the women’s group, each person likes to start a new picture, making their own color choices and using their own style for the process of completing the page. (And if you’ve seen these pages, you know that you don’t complete them in a few minutes or even an hour. They’re complex and take several days of waiting room time to complete.) Some folks use colors across the page – coloring everywhere they want that color to be. Some complete each “area” or element before moving on to the next one. The men’s group is much more collaborative. Several of them will work on the same page. the technicians noted that they’ve seen each of the patients working on the same design at one point or another.

Dennis and I often color while we’re watching TV after dinner. We talk about colors and how we’ve “treated” certain things. What we like best and what we don’t. It’s really fun! Even though we’re both trained artists, we approach our designs as differently as the two waiting room groups!

I’ve completed quite a few pieces that I’ve shared in a “My Gallery.” I hope you enjoy them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Art Gallery

  1. Loved the beautiful pictures.

    Like

  2. I was looking at books in Michaels today. Decided I would never get anything done around the house if I started that.
    Love yours. Let us see some from Dennis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

