wide-eyed at 4am

People I Love

1 Comment

It was so good to see some of the people that I love most after the end of my radiation treatments. I was very tender and sore. I couldn’t do lots of the things that I would’ve done before. But I enjoyed the opportunity to sit and watch more often than usual.

I celebrated with my first glass of wine since July of 2014. I was afraid I would fall on my face. But I had my 2 favorite ladies beside me to catch me, so it was fine. It actually was really fine. It tasted good. I was afraid it wouldn’t. I tolerated it pretty well and didn’t even get a headache.

2ladies_05202016

We had The Pink Bake Sale, we had a water balloon fight, we shopped for birthday gifts and graduation dresses and had birthday parties.

And I finally got to see the littlest of them all in her ballet class. That took me back. Way back to my days as a little dancer. Some of the best times of my life. Not only did I enjoy it, I was good. It awesome to be really good at something. There is nothing like it. Everyone should find that thing that they are exceptional at and do it.

BalletClass_05202016

It’s so tiring – yet renewing – to be in the midst of the whirlwind of five grandkids. They are each so different but then have some amazing similarities. We’re truly blessed to spend time with them and be in their lives.

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “People I Love

  1. I I am so glad that you have the opportunity to really enjoy your grandchildren. Spend all the time you can with them now. It is really true that they grow up too fast. Campbell just finished his first year as a gamecock and Walker is finishing up his sophomore year at GHS. Charlie is finishing up sixth grade at Hughes. Bella will be 11 next week and Clara, the baby, is seven. Where does the time go???

    Like

Leave a Reply

