wide-eyed at 4am

A Week Without Visiting

Leave a comment

It has been an entire week and I’ve not made a visit to LCI Pineville. My only appointment was a follow-up at CMC Cosmetics and Plastic Surgery on Morehead.

This is quite significant since I’ve spent many of my waking hours at LCI Pineville since the end of last August. In fact, every time we head that way, I think our car will turn onto Park Road Ext. all by itself. I feel like they will call to ask why I haven’t been over any day now!

It’s really quite strange. I feel like I’m not doing something I should be doing.

It’s a relief to have some of my life back. Not to have to plan everything I do around appointments and treatments.

Of course, I do have several follow-ups and have only had 1 week that I actually had no treatment or appointment at all in quite a while. So there is still some “planning around” going on, but not to the extent of the past months.

I’m finding it nice to be released to exercise at will. To “do anything I want” and to make plans for some “fun” this summer. But it almost doesn’t feel real. I’m never quite sure if during one of my follow-ups all of that freedom will be taken away.

That’s just a fear. I really don’t expect that it will happen, but your mind does weird things and I surely didn’t feel “sick” when I got diagnosed the first time. I was in great shape and felt awesome. It will be work, but I will get back to that.

Actually, the work has already begun. I was released to start running again on Friday morning at 8am and started a 40 minute run (22) – walk (18) at 9am.

It will continue tomorrow.

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

