wide-eyed at 4am

The New Meaning of Vacation

Leave a comment

At the end of June, we took off on a vacation. Really. This wasn’t a trip to Tampa to visit the kids and grandkids….although those are nice. This wasn’t a short trip to the mountains or a quick run to the beach on a tolerable overnighter.

This was a trip to Florida’s gulf coast to a resort that was really nice. We shared a 3 bedroom condo with Aerin’s family but had our own private suite. The resort had a private beach with cabanas and several pools – along with some other nice amenities.

It was a brief celebration that the major part of my treatment is done.

I had to be careful of the sun since I was only 6-7 weeks out of radiation, but I did fine with 50 and 70 sunscreen and occasional shade.

I had the chance to relax some, renew some and rest in the joy that I was with 10 people who care about me and take care of me. And that is a vacation of a different sort. A vacation from worry. A vacation from stress. A vacation from feeling like everyone was looking at me like a patient – or victim.

And I’ve never really taken a vacation where I was taking leave of all of these things – as related to a cancer diagnosis. And it was amazing. It defined vacation in a totally different way for me.

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

