wide-eyed at 4am

Packing Away

Leave a comment

Today was a bit of another milestone for me. I packed up my wigs and my hats (well MOST of them).

I last wore a wig on Mother’s Day. I had been thinking  – for a while – that I should stop wearing them and just go with the short gray. But I just hadn’t.

Heat put me over the edge! With hair growing in, the wigs were even hotter! And with my Lymphedema sleeve under the choir robe, hot didn’t begin to describe what I was feeling as I sat in the choir loft. (and I’m not even going to discuss the temperature in the loft….)

InChoirRobe

So on that day, I decided that I didn’t want to “cover it up” anymore.

Why has it taken me almost 2 additional months to put it away? I’m not really sure. Part of it was just being lazy. After all, I would have to find somewhere to put the wigs and all of those hats. But I also think something inside of me just wanted to “make sure” I didn’t want to step back and wear the wigs again.

It just so happened that there was a space in a closet that I recently cleaned out that seemed meant for the wig/hat collection. Couldn’t have stuck it all up in the attic but I think that would ruin it all – especially the wigs. In fact, I stuck my head up there and couldn’t imagine anything withstanding that heat!

I’m still not sure about the hair. The curly part is driving me nuts. I’ve been over “productizing” because it looks like a grey brillo pad  when it’s au naturale. I’m soon going to see Eddie about it. It will get fixed on that day! I MUST do something since I have an important wedding to attend in just a couple of months! Eddie and I discussed using a round brush to pull the curl out and style it or just keeping it short so it doesn’t “fro” up. Who knows?!?!? It just has to have some sort of style that looks sane.

Short grey2

Stay tuned. I’m sure I will have more to say about this later. …

By the way – Compare these two pictures. (they are side by side in the feature pic) These were both taken this morning before church… One in natural light and one in flourescent. Ack!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

