wide-eyed at 4am

The Corset Collection

Leave a comment

By definition a corset is a garment worn to hold and train the torso into a desired shape for aesthetic or medical purposes.

I now have quite a collection. The pink ones (and one lavender one) that I have now from my surgeries are apparently the pretty ladies’ versions. I would imagine CMC has a less frilly style available for men who need to wear one of these. This makes a total of 5 corsets. I have 1 more than my number of surgeries because my surgeons didn’t want me to go home with only a corset with bloodstains on it. They thought I needed a fresh one – so I came home with 2 on that 1st visit.

They even give you straps to hold the sucker up.

It’s not bad for a couple of days but after my first surgery, I had to wear one of these for about 2-3 weeks. I was pretty sick of it by then. Especially since it was July!

I also have a couple of pink sleeves….these were actually the idea of a patient. She – like me – thought there should be something that let doctors and nurses know immediately that you have missing lymph nodes….that one of your arms should never be used for IVs, shots or to check blood pressure. She came up with the sleeve and – from what I remember from the story the nurse was telling me Wednesday had a supply of these created for use on appropriate patients. I now have 2.

sleeve_11042196

I believe that part of the lymph node-ectomy (or whatever they call it) should include a tattoo on the patient’s wrist that says no bp/iv or some symbol that indicates this message as a permanent marker. After all I wouldn’t be able to tell anyone that my arm is not “useable” if I were unconscious. There needs to be a way for this to be immediately determinable before a harmful medical procedure is unknowingly done.

Anyway – this corset collection just shows that you never know what kind of collections you’re going to end up with as you travel through this journey!

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

